Easy Friends Excerpt, my first script attempt

This is a piece of my first script attempt.  Tell me what you think 

Evan

Hey, This is Evan, i just pulled up on campus. Where exactly should I report to?

Monica

What campus are you at Evan?

Evan

The New York one….

Monica
Ok, sorry about that I just got a call from some genius that was in Hong Kong asking about

which dormitory he needed to go to. I literally had to ask him seven times in three different languages where he was and in the end, it was a loud speaker announcement that said welcome to Hong Kong that told me he wasn’t quite in the area.

Evan

(laughing) Did he not speak English?

Monica

Please that son of a mother was from Kansas. I can’t with some of the brain surgeons we hire. So back to you, Where exactly are you now?

Evan

In front of a big ole archway.
(CONTINUED)

Monica 

Does it look like it will fall in the next year or…

Evan

No it looks pretty stable.

Monica

Ok you are over by Belamo Square. Are you driving?

Evan

Yeah, I am.

Monica

Ok, well. Park in the red lot. You should see a sign for it right by where you are.

Evan

Yeah i see it. I’m pulling in now.

Monica

Ok, well there is a fun little crumbling staircase on the right side of that lot. Use the grass next to that to come up the hill and the Campus Center is that building at the top of the stairs. Once you go in make a right and walk straight and there you will find your new best friend.

Evan

The guy signing my checks is going to be there?

Monica

(laughing) Trust me you will like me better than her.

(CONTINUED)

 Evan Parks the car grabs his backpack and makes his way up the grass path next to the stair case in need of desperate repair.

llianna

Hey, you are new student here?

Evan

Nah, I’m a staff member.

Illianna

Fantastical. I am Illianna i am student here. I have been here two years and i really like it here. anything you need to know you can come ask me.

Evan

Which way is Monica’s desk?

Illianna

Who?

Evan
Seriously?…..

(Evan stands there waiting for her to end the joke. She stares at him blankly).
Well nice to meet you. I’m Evan. and I’m sure i’ll see you around.

(CONTINUED)

Illianna

Of Course. Nice to be meeting you Evan. Remember anything at all you are in need of and you can ask me.

Evan contiues walking, following the directions that Monica had given him.

Monica

New guy wth a single backpack. You must be Evan. Hotter than you sound on the phone. Quick word of advice, you can date anyone here born in America and keep your job. Everyone else, no matter how old, hot or EASY huh see what i did there, is off limits. remember that. Your job became available because the last hot guy forgot that fact.

Evan

Well hello to you to. I’m Evan Chips. I’m starting work here today. I was looking for a young lady named Monica, she I assume is going to help me get registered and settled.

Monica

Boy come sit down. I called Alexei and told him you were here so he should be down to meet you soon.

Evan

(Saluting) Yes Ma’am

Monica

Smart assery will get you everywhere. (Singing) Now come let me show, you the world that i know, the wonders and magesty abound.

(CONTINUED)

It’s time that we go, on a tour of Glove’s Row, to learn the tricks and tools of this town.

Evan

I only have a year of jazz tap but i have seven of Ballet and modern is that enough to audition for this musical your putting on.

Monica

It’s not but you are pretty and we have an opening.

Alexei

Shane, I really don’t understand your need for skinny jeans. You do realize you’re a big guy right.

Shane

So what that mean? I’m not allowed to have fitted jeans.

Monica

Shane. Skinny jeans are for skinny people. (Evan starts full out laughing)

Shane

Oh no she didn’t. And who are you?

Evan

(wiping tears from his face) Sorry man I’m-

Shane

(In Rock Voice) It Doesn’t Matter

Alexei

Oh God.

(CONTINUED)

Evan

Great Scott Marty! We are back in 1998. This man just quoted the Rock at me. Nex thing you know some body is gonna come over and start wu wu wuing.

Shane

What? What is that? Who wu wu wus?

Evan

Really? SInclaire. Living SIngle. I thought we was having us a 90’s moment but it looks like you gonna tell me what Tommy does at work all day.

Shane

Now you know Tommy ain’t got no job. Anyway, i need a ride to the mall. So let’s get on that, cus i don’t do the bus. What’s your name kid?

Evan

Evan.

Shane

Well welcome Evan, Just do whatever Monica says it will make life easier. And for future I liked Regine better. Smooches. (Sashays away)

Leave a Reply

