SMFTM Singles 9th Inning

9th Inning

Lee crawled to the top of the mound of dead bodies and surveyed the scene.  Spent bullet shells littered the ground like tree pollen.  His left arm hung limply at his side blood oozing from his shoulder.  The remnants of his blue button down shirt was stained purple and brown with blood and thicker bits.

Ford leaned over Chris tending to a gunshot wound in his left leg.  Lee and Ford made eye contact over Chris’ body, Ford nodded at Lee; Chris would live.  Not everyone would be so lucky or unlucky depending on whom you asked.   A person moved in the pile of bodies to Lee’s left.  He snapped his head over to look and made the body rise as he did so. His hair whipped around his head as he turned sending bits of carnage flying and giving him a wild almost feral look.

“Johnny, it’s me.  Johnny, please.”  It took Lee a moment to recognize the voice calling out to him.  The shock of the battle made his brain slow to process what he was seeing.   He slowly lowered the body back to the ground, while he ran over to tend to the person.

“Are you ok? Oh my God, I thought you were dead,” Tears began to stream down Lee’s grime covered face.

“I don’t know J.  I’m hurt bad.  But J they took Tommy and Jayson.”

“What? When?”

“One of the guys shot them with a tranquilizer I guess, grabbed them both and teleported out.  I think they thought I was already dead.  You were-” he stopped to cough and some blood came up with it.

“Ford, I need help. “

“I saw the missile coming this way, how did you stop it?”

“It was Donnie.  He saved us all.”

“This isn’t finished Johnny.  It’s not over.”

“I know.  It will be soon though,” The flames crept back into Lee’s eyes. His left eye burned with gray fire showcasing the last stages in his maturation.

“Johnny, who was i…Oh god!” Ford dropped to his knees by the body.

“Hey buddy,” the man said staring into Ford’s emerald colored eyes.

“Johnny fix him.  Johnny fix him now.  Johnny.  I need you to fix him.  PLEASE!”  Ford pleaded as his powers leaked out of his control.  Bodies began to hover around them; seemingly recreating the moments before they died.

“Ford I don-“

“Johnny please fix it!” They were both crying in earnest now.

“I don’t know how.  If Janet were still alive and here maybe but I don’t have that power and Ford there is nothing alive but us for a quarter mile.”

“What do you mean, there is nothing alive?”

“They nuked us.  Donnie’s gone.  There is nothing left of him but memories. They took my brother and Tommy to do God knows what to them.  They still have Jade, Keira and my son.  I had to crawl over… There is no one left to help us.  We need to grab these two and find a hospital or a healer and see if they can help.  But we need to leave.  His residual power is keeping the fallout from here but we need to leave this place.  I can feel it coming for us.”

“Go, I’ll stay with him until it’s over.”

“Fuck you.  Get up, let’s go.”

“Fuck you. Get the fuck away from me or so help me…”

“Ford go please.  Save my nephews.  Get them away from those people.  Please! For me,” Ford shook his head sending sweat and tears flying from his face.  He slowly got up and walked back over to where he had left Chris.

“Johnny, you once told me if we were friends the world wouldn’t come to an end.”

“Don’t please”

“You were never my friend Johnny.  You were my other brother.  I used to be a little jealous of you two together, until I realized you helped my brother find his own way.  I can’t ask this of my twin because he isn’t like us, he feels too deep, but Johnny kill them all.  Kill all the bastards that did this to us, that ruined our families.  Save everyone you can but you promise me you will make them pay,” Lee smiled down at his friend.

“They will learn quickly to fear the eyes that burn.”

“Thanks brother.  Now go.  Teach them fear.”

 

-Manny L Birch ( Author)

http://www.mannybirch.wix.com/manny-l-birch

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00APZYGX2

Leave a Reply

